Friday Flash Fiction: Silverlight

31 10 2008

This post has moved. You can read the full post here: http://www.neilbeynon.com/fiction/silverlight/

Well, I promised you flash this week and flash you shall have. I think I mangled this one by drafting too much of it in my head but as ever feedback is welcome.

Silverlight
By Neil Beynon

Awake. Something’s wrong: my tongue feels like worn carpet, head feels like it was used to wear the carpet down. The floor is too close. The bed the wrong shape: too small, contorted and whose voice is that.

I’m in the living room, not a good sign.

I unfold from the couch, the television prattles on at me incoherently, the presenter’s monotone merging with the noise of my headache. What was I drinking last night? Where’s the bloody remote?

Something bites my foot.

I hop clutching my wounded limb, there is a piece of sharp plastic that looks like the corner of my television remote sticking our of it. As I sit down again to remove the splinter I notice the chunk of plaster missing from the wall, I should fix that…later. God damned it hurts pulling out the plastic.

This post has moved. You can read the full post here: http://www.neilbeynon.com/fiction/silverlight/


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 11 2008
Shaun CG

Nice piece, dude, well-written and you generate a sense of tension and dread throughout. I like the ambiguity of the conclusion.

12 11 2008
Neil

Cheers man.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

